WBSC reveals groups, schedule for Softball Asia-Oceania Olympic Qualifiers

WBSC reveals groups, schedule for Softball Asia-Oceania Olympic Qualifiers

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) today revealed the groups and schedule for the Europe/Africa and Asia/Oceania qualification events for the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo 2020, following a live draw conducted at the WBSC headquarters in the Olympic Capital.  

“Now all the teams aiming to advance to Tokyo 2020 know their rivals, and the road to Tokyo 2020 is clear for everyone,” said WBSC Softball Chairman, Tommy Velazquez.

“In the next months, the world will see the best softball nations competing for the Olympic dream, with only four berths available in the next Olympic Games. Good luck to everyone.”

WBSC Softball Asia/Oceania Qualifier

Group A: No. 8 China, No. 23 Korea, No. 13 Philippines and No. 11 New Zealand

Group B: No. 6 Chinese Taipei, No. 37 Indonesia and No. 42 Hong Kong and No. 7 Australia.

The WBSC Softball Asia/Oceania Qualifier will be played in Shanghai, China, from 24-28 September. The top six National Teams from the Asian Softball Cup final standings and the top two ranked National Teams from Oceania will play for the last spot in the softball competition in Tokyo 2020.

The host team, China, was seeded A1, while the top-ranked nation, Chinese Taipei, was placed as B1.

The 12-game opening round will be held from 24-26 September, with the top two teams of each group advancing to the Super Round carrying the result of the game played between each other. The winning National Team will advance to Tokyo 2020.

With the groups draw, the teams have also known their rivals for each day of competition, the exact time of each game will be announced at a later date.

The top two nations in the WBSC Women’s Softball World Rankings, No. 1 USA and No. 2 Japan, are the only teams already qualified for the softball’s historic Olympic return in 2020. The U.S. qualified for the six-team Olympic event through winning the WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship in 2018, while Japan received an automatic quota as the host nation.