Tanner, Sibraa receive HOF honours

Tanner, Sibraa receive HOF honours

Michael Tanner and Darren Sibraa are the latest members of the Softball Australia Hall of Fame after they were inducted during the organisations Annual General Meeting.

Both men have made fantastic contributions to the game at a national and international level.

Michael Tanner was a member of Australia’s first team to win a medal at the World Championship, Bronze in 2004, and also a member of the Gold Medal team in 2009.

A lead-off hitter for the Aussie Steelers, Tanner led the way at the 2013 World Championships with a batting average of 0.400, an on-base average of 0.487, slugging Average of 0.400 and a fielding average of 1.000.

Darren Sibraa has a long and illustrious career as an umpire. He has umpired at 41 national championships across all age groups, men and women. Eleven of these have been as an Umpire’s Examiner and 10 as the Tournament Chief Umpire.

Sibraa’s international experience includes six international tournaments, two World Championship Qualifiers and four World Championships.

The complete Softball Australia Hall of Fame list is available through the History and Recognition page at softball.org.au.