States bring out the big guns for 2018 Gilley’s Shield

States bring out the big guns for 2018 Gilley’s Shield

The softball spotlight falls on Perth in January as Australia’s best women players battle it out for the 2018 Gilley’s Shield.

New South Wales Firestars will be out to retain the 2017 title they won at Blacktown International Sportspark, beating Queensland 8-0 in the final.

gilley's shieldThe 71st Gilley’s Shield returns to Mirrabooka International Softball Stadium from January 6-12. The tournament was last played there in 2015, when it was won by New South Wales.

The first official interstate carnival was held in 1947, organised by Mack Gilley, inaugural President of the Queensland Softball Association. The Shield is named in his honour, recognising the significant contribution Gilley made to the sport.

All states have now announced their teams for 2018, which include some high-profile international players.

Pitcher Delanie Gourley (Victoria), has complied an impressive record in two seasons with the Florida Gators, one of the top-ranked teams in the US college system. And Jailyn Ford (SA) will bring the experience gained while pitching for the Akron Racers in the National Pro Fastpitch league in the USA.


ACT Diamonds
Sarah Armstrong Ashlee Hesling Brooke Melavirta Kalani Selu
Janice Blackman Tess Henman Rebecca Peacock Vanessa Stokes
Anneliese Brenner-Tulloh Chantelle Ladner Katina Robson Grace Tosic
Eva Carless Brianna McGovern Kylie Robson Clare Warwick


NSW Firestars
Georgia Casey Shannon Keevers Molly Meenan Stacey Porter
Michelle Cox Rachel Lack Tahli Moore Ellen Roberts
Amelia Cudicio Stacey McManus Kaia Parnaby Rachael Sechi
Michelle Gorisse Nicola Maitland Sam Poole Taylah Tsitsikronis


Queensland Heat
Nicole Boughton Alisha Prybyszczuk Tara Speakman Jade Wall
Jessica Donnelly Jayme Reddacliff Dorinda Stone Melinda Weaver
Chelsea Forkin Justine Smethurst Erin Thras Stacey Webber
Sandra Holden Carmelle Sorensen Jessica Torpey Tamieka Whitefield


SA Starz 
Ada Brincat-Tree Amber Hood Vicky McFarland Sarah Tonkin
Madeline Cameron Sophie Hoyle Olivia McGinley Stephanie Trzcinski
Jenny Dunn Lana Kaesler  Chelsea Robinson Belinda White
Jailyn Ford Jordan Lambert Natasha Strapps


Victoria Titans
Jess Bahn Jackie Di Siervi Kim Quince Sarah Tutchener
Kiara Bax-Rigg Delanie Gourley Kylie Steemers Marina Walker
Tessa Brown Nicky Martin Jessica Tolmie Alys Young
Bree Dawson Tania Puketapu Brianna Trim


WA Flames
Allanah Alvarado McKenzie Giles-Martin Kelsey Kessler Shae Muggridge
Emmilee Blowers Leigh Godfrey Verity Long-Droppert Sara Riou
Tikki Collander Shannon Hearne Emma McLean Maddy Schofield
Jemma Freegard Amber Johnson Courtney Muggridge  Jodie Stevenson