Softball Australia announce 2019 Aussie Steelers squad

Softball Australia announce 2019 Aussie Steelers squad

Softball Australia is pleased to announce the players in the 2019 Aussie Steelers.

A final Aussie Steelers team of 17 players will be selected from the Squad, for the 2019 WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship, to be held in Prague from 13-23 June.

Softball Australia would like to advise Laing Harrow will step away from his Head Coaching role with the Aussie Steelers to focus his efforts on the Travelodge Aussie Spirit team.

Laing has enjoyed great success with the Aussie Steelers highlighted by a silver medal at the last WBSC World Championship in 2017 and will pass on the reins with the Australians ranked fourth in the WBSC World Rankings.

Softball Australia Chief Operating Officer Chet Gray thanked Harrow for his hard work with the Open Men’s program.

“Laing has been part of the Junior and Open Men’s High Performance program for a number of years and we’ve seen significant achievements under his guidance with gold medals for the Aussie Colts and Junior Steelers and of course 2017’s runner-up finish at the World Championship,” said Gray.

“His work with the current group of Aussie Steelers has put us in good stead ahead of this year’s World Championship and Softball Australia thanks Laing for all his hard work, we look forward to continued success under a new Head Coach.”

Softball Australia will begin the recruitment process for a new Head Coach of the Aussie Steelers in the coming days.

The Aussie Steelers team will depart Australia in early June for a lead-up program prior to the World Championship.

Visit for more information on the World Championship including ticket packages.

Congratulations to the below on selection to the squad.

Anthony Batrich VIC
Callum Beashel NSW
Blake Bell NSW
Jarrod Bradbury ACT
Mitchell Brownlow NSW
Jack Burt WA
Jarryd Farrell SA
Adam Folkard ACT
Mark Harris WA
Lachlan Hay NSW
Julian Jemmott QLD
Andrew Kirkpatrick ACT
Michael Ludkin QLD
Hayden Mathews NSW
Joshua McGovern ACT
Ryan Merriman QLD
Nick Norton ACT
Brendon O’Byrne WA
Liam O’Leary NSW
Scott Patterson WA
Harrison Peters NSW
James Purcell QLD
Layton Reid QLD
Nick Shailes
Ryan Sinclair VIC
James Todhunter NSW
Lewis Weldon VIC
Joshua White ACT
Jett Wright WA