Queensland sweep the U16 National Championships

Queensland sweep the U16 National Championships

Queensland have swept the U16 National Championships winning both the Esther Deason and Arthur Allsopp Shields convincingly.

It’s the first time Queensland have won both tournaments in the same week.

The U16 Girls team opened proceedings at Waverley convincingly claiming their 9th Esther Deason Shield over New South Wales 7-0

After a stalemate through the first two innings, Queensland broke the deadlock in the third with Chelsea Zunker stealing home and Keeana Henare crossing off a bunt laid down by Soraya Hamson.

The girls in maroon never took their foot off the pedal scoring three more unanswered runs through Tallulah Civoniceva, Tayla Evans and Syren Letizia.

They pulled further ahead in the sixth when Zunker and Letizia crossed for their second runs.

Zunker proved a force on both offense and defense with New South Wales unable to score off her stellar pitching.

She was awarded player of the final for her outstanding performance.

On the Boys’ side of the draw, Queensland faced Victoria, the hometown team having the chance to break the streak of Queensland and New South Wales wins in the Arthur Allsopp Shield, 2009 the last time another state had won, coincidentally being Victoria.

The 11-year drought looked as if it would be broken with Victoria pulling ahead early in the top of the third scoring two unanswered runs through a Luke Russell inside-the-park home run.

Queensland didn’t take long to respond With Ethan Munro equalling off a home run of his own, the boys then exploded in the bottom of the six with Ashton Tauariki, Haydan Dobe and Nickolas Gehrmann all smashing homers to put eight runs on the board and close out the tournament with a 10-2 win.

Ethan Munro was named Player of the Final.

Tournament Awards

U16 Girls

Tournament MVP – Neve Adams (SA)

Best Batter – Georgia Burr (SA)

Best Pitcher – Emilee Solomon (QLD)

Grand Final MVP – Chelsea Zunker (QLD)

Grand Final Box Score

U16 Boys

Tournament MVP – Ashton Tauariki (QLD)

Best Batter – Cameron Taylor (NSW)

Best Pitcher – Dante Machiavello (NSW)

Grand Final MVP – Ethan Munro (QLD)

Grand Final Box Score