Queensland claim Nox Bailey and Elinor McKenzie Shields on amazing final day

A great day for Queensland at the Under-19 National Championships.

Queensland claim Nox Bailey and Elinor McKenzie Shields on amazing final day

Queensland claimed both the Under-19 Men’s and Under-19 Women’s national titles in dramatic fashion, with amazing come-from-behind grand final victories at Blacktown International Sportspark.

In the women’s championship game, Queensland scored three runs in the bottom of the fifth inning to take the lead from NSW for the first time in the game, then held on to win 5-4.

The men’s final was even more dramatic. NSW led 5-1 going into the final inning, but Queensland scored five runs in the bottom of the inning to snatch a thrilling victory. Home runs by Sheldon Waller and Michael Ludkin sealed the deal for Queensland 6-5.

Elinor McKenzie Shield

The 45th Under-19 Women’s National Softball Championship featured teams from all Australian states competing for the Elinor McKenzie Shield. This year’s tournament was held at Blacktown International Sportspark in Sydney.

 Elinor McKenzie Shield.

Queensland, winners of the 2018 Elinor McKenzie Shield.

Day 7 results

NSW 5, SA 1
Queensland 5, NSW 4

2018 U19s Women’s Award Winners

Best Pitcher: Shinai Gibbins (QLD)
Best Batter: Moe Kurihara (QLD)
Player of the Final: Tamieka Whitefield (QLD)
MVP: Georgia Hood (SA)

2018 U19s Women’s All Tournament Team

Pitcher: Shinai Gibbins (QLD)
Catcher: Brielle Karklin (WA)
1st Base: Madisun Graham (QLD)
2nd Base: Tamieka Whitefield (QLD)
3rd Base: Tamar Hutchinson (VIC)
Shortstop: Jenna Trim (NSW)
Outfielders: Sara Riou (WA), Holly Touchell (WA), Hannah Bahn (Vic)
Designated Player: Georgia Hood (SA)



Nox Bailey Shield

The 30th Under-19 Men’s National Softball Championship was held in conjunction with the Under-19 women’s event. Teams competed for the Nox Bailey Shield.

Nox Bailey Shield.

Queensland, winners of the 2018 Nox Bailey Shield.

Day 7 results

NSW 7, ACT 2
Queensland 6, NSW 5

2018 U19s Men’s Award Winners

Best Pitcher: Shaun Lanaghan (NSW)
Best Batter: Jarred Garland (NSW)
Player of the Final: Keenan Smith (QLD)
MVP: Jarred Garland (NSW)

2018 U19s Men’s All Tournament Team

Pitcher: Shaun Lanaghan (NSW)
Catcher: Jacob Donaldson (NSW)
1st Base: Shannon Goffer (QLD)
2nd Base: Thomas Cass (NSW)
3rd Base: Shay Crean (VIC)
Shortstop: Jordan Howell (WA)
Outfielders: Jarred Garland (NSW), Sheldon Waller (QLD), Samuel Reale (VIC)
Designated Player: Jett Wright (WA)

 More pictures from the Under-19 Men’s and Women’s Championships are on the Softball NSW Facebook page