Qld Heat – 2016 Gilley’s Shield champions

Qld Heat – 2016 Gilley’s Shield champions

The 2016 Women’s National Softball Championship was rain affected but all teams were able to squeeze 5 games in, going well into the night on Thursday and Friday.

Saturday saw the play-off round. Qld dominated NSW to win 9-0 and gain automatic entry into the night final. NSW defeated ACT in the Preliminary Final for a birth in the Grand Final.

Before a large and enthusiastic crowd, a pitchers dual ensued between Justine Smethurst (Qld) and Ellen Roberts (NSW). This was the third consecutive meeting between these team in the Gilley’s Shield Final with NSW winning the past two in the same dramatic fashion. With the score tied at 1-1 into the bottom of the 6th inning, Qld’s Jade Wall connected for a 2-run home run for the winning margin.

Earlier in the day, Vic defeated WA, 2-1 to finish 5th in the tournament, while ACT defeated SA, 3-2 – the latter finishing in 4th place.

Qld Heat had an excellent tournament as the list of award winners and all-stars was dominated by Heat players.


Gilley’s Shield Award winners

Lorraine Woolley Pitcher of the Tournament Justine Smethurst (Qld)
Sybild Turner Best Batter Brittany Vonk (Qld)
Midge Nelson Tournament Most Valuable Player Brenda De Blaes (Qld)
Player of the Grand Final Jade Wall (Qld)
Rosemary Adey Rookie of the Year Amelia Cudicio (NSW)


All Tournament Team

Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld)
Catcher Rachel Lack (NSW)
1st Base Jessica Muller (Qld)
2nd Base Brenda De Blaes (Qld)
3rd Base Tara Speakman (Qld)
Shortstop Brittany Vonk (Qld)
Outfield Samantha Poole (NSW)
Janice Blackman (Qld)
Chelsea Forkin (Qld)
DP Clare Warwick (ACT)


The Gilley’s Shield Grand Final will be replayed on Fox Sports:

  • 27 January @ 3.30pm
  • 29 January @ 6.30am

Check TV guides for details.

For all Results, click here.