Open Men’s competition for 33rd John Reid Shield starts today

Open Men’s competition for 33rd John Reid Shield starts today

The ACT 89ers are going for their sixth consecutive Open Men’s National Softball Championship in Adelaide when play begins today.

ACT has been dominant, winning nine of 10 John Reid Sheilds for 14 out of the past 32.  Western Australia enters this year’s competition with 11 wins, followed by Victoria with four, Queensland two, NSW one and the host South Australians looking for for their first Men’s national championship.

Andrew Kirkpatrick leads for the defending champions having been Pitcher of the Tournament five times, Top Batter three times and Tournament MVP four times. He will need to be on top of his game as ACT pitching ace, Adam Folkard, is not active for this tournament with his wife giving birth to their first child last week.

There are plentry of stars to watch with Zenon Winters leading the ACT offensive attack. NSW line-up will feature 2015 Rookie of the Tournament, Keiran O’Leary, and 2015 Top Batter, James Todhunter, while WA has 2015 Tournament MVP, Aaron Cockman.

The Championship starts at 10.30am local time when host South Australia play the defending champions, ACT, and Victoria start against Western Australia.  The Grand Final for the John Reid Shield is scheduled for a 2.30pm start on Saturday 5 March and will be taped for a broadcast on Fox Sports at a later date.

For more information, click here.