NSW wins 2016 U19 Men’s National Softball Championship and Nox Bailey Shield

NSW wins 2016 U19 Men’s National Softball Championship and Nox Bailey Shield

It was a hot and wet week for softball at Blacktown International Sportspark for the 28th U19 Men’s National Softball Championship. Not only facing their opponents, each team had to deal with extreme heat and then the rain.

Games were postponed on Friday that led to a tight schedule on Saturday in the lead up to the Championship Final between NSW and Qld that was played Saturday night.

Earlier in the day, NSW edged out ACT 3-2 to go directly into the final. ACT then played Qld after the Queenslanders easily handled Vic 9-2. Qld held that momentum and smashed ACT 12-1 to advance to the Championship Final.

NSW was the dominant team throughout the tournament going 9-0 in round-robin play outscoring their opponents by 60 runs.  Taking on a tired Qld team, the Final was scoreless after 3 innings when NSW shortstop Henry Groth smashed a 2 run home run to right field which eventually proved to be the winning runs in the 4th inning.  Nicholas Moore homered for Qld in the top of the 6th to make it close before NSW manufactured a run in their half of the 6th inning to complete the scoring for the 3-1 win. Chris Gillies was the winning pitcher for NSW with 7 strikeouts.

The win gives NSW the Nox Bailey Shield for the third consecutive year and 12th in the Championship’s history.

This game was streamed live and can be viewed on SAL Productions YouTube channel.

NSW has faced Qld in 5 national softball finals so far in 2016 and has won four with Qld’s only win coming in the Women’s National Softball Championship for the Gilley’s Shield.


Award Winners

Player of the Grand Final Henry Groth (NSW)
Best Pitcher Chris Gillies (NSW)
Best Batter Mitchell Woodworth (Qld)
Most Valuable Player Blake Bell (NSW)


All Tournament Team

Pitcher Luke Ollerenshaw (NSW)
Catcher Joshua McGovern (ACT)
1st Base Scott Newling (WA)
2nd Base Izack Rossi (NSW)
3rd Base Blake Bell (NSW)
Shortstop Nicholas Sheedy (Vic)
Outfield Alexander Cleary (Qld)
Adam Talavico (Vic)
Dylan Hard (Tas)
Designated PlayerP Dawson Summers (WA)