Edebone-Weber Shield and Audrey McLaughlin Cup


This Shield recognises 2 Softball legends: Peta Edebone from Australia and Gina Weber from New Zealand, for their outstanding contributions to the game in their respective countries. This competition is run in conjunction with the Gilley’s Shield and coincides with the inclusion of the New Zealand White Sox into the competition for the first time.

Peta Edebone is known for her courage, dedication and commitment to the pursuit of success. She began her representative career when she was chosen for the Victorian U16 team in 1984 and played for 3 years in the junior ranks. Peta represented the Victorian Open Women’s team for a total of 15 years, including captaining the team from 1994-2004. In 1993 Peta won the Sybil Turner Medal for Best Batter at the Australian Open Women’s Fastpitch Championship and in 1997, at the same event, won the Midge Nelson Medal for Most Valuable Player.

New Zealand’s Gina Weber is probably the best recognised name in New Zealand women’s softball. The 1.90m (6′ 3″) pitcher’s first experience of international Softball was with the New Zealand B team in 1982. She did enough in that side to be included in the New Zealand team that won the gold medal at the world championship later that year in Taiwan. That world championship was to be her first of 4 such tournaments at that level. She also played in the 1995 Olympic Games qualifying tournament. After that Weber, who played represented Wellington, Auckland and North Harbour during her playing career, took time out from the game, but returned to captain the White Sox at the Sydney Olympics in 2000. In 2004 she attended her 5th world championship, but this one was as part of the White Sox coaching staff. In 2005, Weber was inducted into the Softball NZ Hall of Fame.

Competing teams include the South Australian Starz, Victorian Titans, Western Australian Flames, NSW Firestars, Queensland Heat, ACT Diamonds and New Zealand White Sox.

Edebone-Weber Shield Champions

2010 – NSW Firestars in Redlands

2011 – NSW Firestars in Perth

2012 – NSW Firestars in Canberra

2013 – Qld Heat in NSW

2014 – NSW in Auckland

Most Valuable Player Award

The Most Valuable Player Award is voted by the Head Coach of each team. Following each game, teams submit their top three performers from the opposing team. All votes are compiled over the three rounds of the Shield to determine the Most Valuable Player of the series.

Most Valuable Players

2010 – Tracey Mosley (ACT)

2011 – Stacey Porter (NSW)

2012 – Chelsea Forkin (WA) & Clare Warwick (ACT)

2013 – Jodie Bowering (Qld)

2014 – n/a


The Audrey McLaughlin Cup is awarded to the team that finishes first in Round 1. Audrey McLaughlin was a prominent member of the Brisbane and Queensland Softball Association for over 40 years. In 1965 Audrey was an Assistant Coach of the Australian Women’s team that won gold at the inaugural Women’s World Championships. She was awarded Life Membership by Softball Australia in 1966 and in 1985 was inducted into the Softball Australia Hall of Fame for her services to softball. In 1999, Audrey was further recognised with her induction into the International Softball Hall of Fame and received an AM in the general division of the Order of Australia. Audrey’s contribution to the sport has been immeasurable and it makes her one of the most recognisable and respected members of the softball community.

Competing teams in the Gilley’s Shield include South Australian Starz, Victorian Titans, Western Australian Flames, NSW Firestars, Queensland Heat and ACT Diamonds.