Laing Harrow announced as Aussie Spirit Head Coach

Laing Harrow announced as Aussie Spirit Head Coach

Softball Australia is pleased to announce the appointment of Laing Harrow as Head Coach of the National Women’s team, Aussie Spirit.

Harrow will take up the position following almost two decades of coaching positions with Softball Australia national teams at both senior and junior levels and takes the helm at a pivotal time for the Aussie Spirit team as they strive for a place in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

“I am beyond thrilled and humbled to be appointed as coach of the Aussie Spirit team,” Harrow said.

“This is an exciting time for the sport of softball in Australia, and around the world, with the game returning to Olympic competition and the next two years will present both some challenges and great opportunities for the entire Aussie Spirit team – both players and supporting staff,” he continued.

“I am looking forward to working with all the players as we embark on this all important qualification phase for the Olympics, starting with the Japan Cup in November,” Harrow added.

With a coaching resume dating back to 1995 Harrow has had extensive experience at a state, national and international level with both junior and senior teams.

As an Assistant Coach Harrow was instrumental in the development of the young players of Australia as he helped steer the Aussie Colts to World Championship Gold Medals in both 2001 and 2005, before continuing his role and helping securing a third Gold Medal with the team as Specialist Coach in 2008.

In 2017 he was head coach of the Aussie Steelers who achieved a Silver Medal at the World Championships and most recently he was at the helm of the Aussie Junior Steelers when they were achieved Gold in 2018 Junior Men’s World Softball Championship’s.

One of the best softball players to come out of the ACT Harrow excelled in the sport as a player for over a decade. He represented Australia in 40 international games, was captain for the Australian Men’s team for the 1996 World Open Men’s Championships, played for Canada in the 1989 Junior Men’s World Championships when Australia did not field a team and represented the ACT in over 100 games.

In 2001 he was rewarded with an induction into the Softball Australia Hall of Fame and in 2003 was the first Australian male to be admitted into the International Softball Hall of Fame.

“We are excited to appoint Laing Harrow as Head Coach of the Aussie Spirit team and have huge confidence in the knowledge and passion he will bring to the role” said Softball Australia CEO David Pryles.

“The next 18 months are extremely important for the Aussie Spirit team and Harrow was a standout candidate, among a field of highly talented applicants, for the role of Head Coach based on his proven results developing players and leading their performances in competitions at the highest level, as well as his personal playing history and achievements” Pryles continued.

Playing Experience
1976-1986 Played in Canada
1990-96 Canberra Eagle Hawks (National Fastpitch League)
1987-2000 & 2008 ACT State Team (4-time National Champions)
1988,1992,1996 Australian Men’s Team Vice-Captain 92, Captain 96 1989 Canadian Junior Team (silver medal)

Coaching Experience
1995-1996 Head Coach Canberra Eagle Hawks (National Fastpitch League)
1996-1997, 2014 & 2015 Head Coach ACT Men’s Team (National Champs 2014 & 2015)
2012-2013 Assistant ACT Men’s Team (National Champs)
2016-2018 Head Coach ACT U/17 and U/19’s
2001 assistant coach Australian Men’s Team tour to NZ
2001,2005 assistant coach Aussie Colts (Gold Medals)
2008 specialist coach Aussie Colts (Gold Medal)
2016 & 2018 Head Coach Aussie Junior Steelers (2018 Gold Medal)
2015 Co-Head Coach Aussie Steelers
2017 Head Coach Aussie Steelers (Silver Medal)

Other Coaching/Playing Experience
1987-2000 Played for the Canberra Knights (East Coast League and Australian Ice Hockey League)
1996-2000 Played ice hockey for Australia
1998-2000 Head Coach Canberra Knights (Australian Ice Hockey League)
1998 Player/Coach ACT ice hockey team (Goodall Cup Champions, 1st time for ACT)