Daily Wrap, Day 6 – January 7, Hawker (UNDER 17 BOYS)

Daily Wrap, Day 6 – January 7, Hawker (UNDER 17 BOYS)

Under 17 Boys – Day 6 (FINALS)

The final day of play, and three games remained before the Arthur Allsopp Shield was awarded to the new Under 17 Boys National champions. With Qld straight through to the final after their win over NSW the previous day, it was up to NSW and ACT to battle it out for a spot in the final.

Before that could happen Vic and WA played out a 5th v 6th playoff game where WA came out the victor in a 5-2 contest. With Vic off to a cracking start knocking in 2 early runs they were unable to hold off WA who clawed their way back to eventually claim 5th spot. An inside the park home run to Ashlee Goffer (WA) in the top of the 4th the highlight.

With ACT winning the 3rd v 4th playoff they were given an opportunity to make their way to the final, but had to overcome NSW in the process. Unfortunately some superb NSW batting led by Jeremy Garland (3 hits, 3 RBIs) was too much for ACT who ended up going down 9-0 in 5 innings.

An all too familiar Grand Final match up with Qld and NSW taking the diamond, making it a blue and maroon square off three times for the weekend and four times for the week. Going into the final NSW had came out on top in the two round games before succumbing to Qld in the 1 v 2 playoff. NSW proved to be the more defensive team in the lead up (11 runs against), while Qld were the dominant offensive team (131 runs for).

Qld showed there offensive dominance from the get-go, seemingly taking confidence from their last game against the boys in blue. On the back of some sensational team batting including an early triple to cenre right from Ryschan Thompson (Qld) that brought teammate Waters home, the maroons knocked in 5 runs in the bottom of the first inning. After Rhys Shelley crossed the plate bringing in the 5th for the inning it was looking grim for the blues. From that point there was no looking back as the pitching tightened up across the board.

All 7 innings were played out and no runs were added to the score line. Qld had reversed the previous year’s result and claimed their third Arthur Allsopp Shield ending a 3-year NSW streak. Player of the Grand Final was awarded to Qld pitcher Layton Reid, who scalped 9 SOs in a spectacular shut-out.

All-Tournament Team and Individual Award Winners

Individual Award Winners
Best Batter Jarred Garland (NSW)
Best Pitcher Layton Reid (Qld)
Most Valuable Player Sheldon Waller (Qld)
Player of the Grand Final Layton Reid (Qld)


All-Tournament Team
Pitcher Layton Reid (Qld)
Catcher Rhys Shelley (Qld)
1st Base Cameron Henderson (NSW)
3rd Base Kyle Doherty (ACT)
Pivots Jarred Garland (NSW)
  Jeremy Waters (Qld)
Outfielders Dylan Hopgood (SA)
  Cody Rodwell (Vic)
  Kingsley Dawson (WA)
Designated Player Sheldon Waller (Qld)



Game 33 Vic 2 dftd by WA 5 (5 v 6)
Game 34 NSW 9 dftd ACT 0 (PRELIM FINAL)
Game 35 Qld 5 dftd NSW 0 (FINAL)

Click here to see more results