Coaches appointed for 2018 Open Women’s program

Coaches appointed for 2018 Open Women’s program

It’s going to be a huge year for Australian women’s softball, requiring enormous commitment not just from players, but also coaches.

With that in mind, Softball Australia has announced the appointment of an experienced coaching panel for the 2018 Australian Open Women’s program.

With athletes in the squad from all over Australia, coaches from across the country have been appointed as part of a nationally aligned program that allows them to deliver the appropriate daily training environment in all states.

A group of coaches who applied to be part of the panel will have the opportunity to work under the direction of Head Coach Fabian Barlow in one of the most important and significant years in the history of the Australia’s Open Women’s Program.

Softball Australia High Performance Coordinator Simone Wearne says the appointments also reflect a desire to provide development opportunities for coaches working with open women’s players across Australia.

“Softball Australia understands the importance of providing our players with the opportunity to continue developing at the highest level, but we cannot disregard how vital it is to be offering more opportunities to our coaches,” Wearne says.

“We are committed to putting ourselves in the best position to qualify for the 2020 Olympics, which means that we must continue to put more of our coaches in an environment where they can learn and be challenged.”

Open Women’s Head Coach
Fabian Barlow (Qld)

Open Women’s Coaching Panel for 2018
Troy Baverstock (NSW)
Annie Fidge (SA)
Kelly Hardie (Qld)
Kathy Horton (NSW)
Kevin Jenkins (Qld)
Nathan Jones (WA)
Kerrie Porter (NSW)
Mark Rigg (Vic)
Kym Tollenaere (Qld)
Neridah Wearne (NSW)

Coaches for the two Australian teams competing in the Asia Pacific Cup from February 1-4 will be announced later this week.