71st Women’s National Softball Championship

Event: 71st Women’s National Softball Championship
Playing for the Gilley’s Shield
Date: 6-12 January 2018
Venue/location: Mirrabooka International Softball Stadium, WA
Draw/Results: Click here
Teams: ACT Diamonds
New South Wales Firestars
Queensland Heat
South Australia Starz
Victoria Titans
Western Australia Flames
Team Lists: Click here
Defending Champions: NSW Firestars
Officials: Technical Delegate – Kylie Bloodworth
Tournament Convenor – Luci Powell
Tournament Chief Umpire – Darren Sibraa
Tournament Chief Statistician – Jim Giles
Final Placings:
1 NSW Firestars
2 Queensland Heat
3 SA Starz
4 Victoria Titans
5 ACT Diamonds
6 Western Australia Flames
2018 Champions: NSW Firestars

Award winners: Midge Nelson Medal – Most Valuable Player Georgia Casey (NSW Firestars)
  Lorraine Woolley Medal – Best Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld Heat)
  Sybil Turner Medal – Best Batter Leigh Godfrey (WA Flames)
  Rosemary Adey Medal – Rookie of the Year Shannon Keevers (NSW Firestars)
  Player of the Grand Final Stacey McManus (NSW Firestars)

All Tournament Team: Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld Heat)
  Catcher Carmelle Sorensen (Qld Heat)
  1st Base Jessica Torpey (Qld Heat)
  2nd Base Georgia Casey (NSW Firestars)
  3rd Base Stacey Porter (NSW Firestars)
  Shortstop Jackie Di Siervi (Vic Titans)
  Outfielders Leigh Godfrey (WA Flames)
Jade Wall (Qld Heat)
Maddie Cameron (SA Starz)
  Designated Player Samantha Poole (NSW Firestars)
Sponsors: Australian Sports CommissionEastonGreatrex