70th Women’s National Softball Championship


Event: 70th Women’s National Softball Championship
Playing for the Gilley’s Shield
Date: 2-8 January 2017
Venue/location: Blacktown International Sportspark, Blacktown, NSW
Final Placings:
1 NSW Firestars
2 Qld Heat
3 WA Flames
4 ACT Diamonds
5 Vic Titans
6 SA Starz
Draw/Results: Click Here for competition statistics, draws and results
2017 Champions: NSW Firestars
Defending Champions: Qld Heat

Teams: Australian Capital Territory Diamonds
New South Wales Firestars
Queensland Heat
South Australia Starz
Victoria Titans
Western Australia Flames
View all 2017 team lists here

Officials: Technical Delegate – Kylie Bloodworth
Tournament Convenor – Cathy Kerr
Tournament Chief Umpire – Debbie Grove
Tournament Chief Statistician – Chris Trengove

Award winners: Sybil Turner Medal – Best Batter Stacey Porter (NSW)
  Lorraine Woolley Medal – Best Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld)
  Midge Nelson Medal – Most Valuable Player Chelsea Forkin (Qld)
  Rosemary Adey Medal – Rookie of the Year Tahli Moore (NSW)
  Player of the Grand Final Kaia Parnaby (NSW)

All Tournament Team: Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld)
  Catcher Carmelle Sorensen (Qld)
  1st Base Simone Freeman (NSW)
  2nd Base Jordan Lambert (SA)
  3rd Base Stacey Porter (NSW)
  Shortstop Stacey McManus (NSW)
  Outfielders Chelsea Forkin (Qld)
Sam Poole (NSW)
Janice Blackman (Qld)
  Designated Player Bree Wanke (Vic)
Sponsors: Australian Sports Commission, Easton, Greatrex