69th Women’s National Softball Championship


Event: 69th Women’s National Softball Championship
Playing for the Gilley’s Shield
Date: 3-9 January 2016
Venue/location: Blacktown International Sportspark, Blacktown, NSW
Final Placings:
1 Qld Heat
2 NSW Firestars
3 ACT Diamonds
4 SA Starz
5 Vic Titans
6 WA Flames
2016 Champions: Qld Heat
Defending Champions: NSW Firestars
Draw/Results: Click here for competition statistics, draws and results

Teams: Australian Capital Territory Diamonds
New South Wales Firestars
Queensland Heat
South Australia Starz
Victoria Titans
Western Australia Flames
View all 2016 team lists here

Officials: Technical Delegate – Kylie Bloodworth
Tournament Convenor – Cathy Kerr
Tournament Chief Umpire – Patricia Sibraa
Tournament Chief Statistician – Chris Trengove

Award winners: Sybil Turner Medal – Best Batter Brittany Vonk (Qld)
  Lorraine Woolley Medal – Best Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld)
  Midge Nelson Medal – Most Valuable Player Brenda De Blaes (Qld)
  Rosemary Adey Medal – Rookie of the Year Ameila Cudicio (NSW)
  Player of the Grand Final Jade Wall (Qld)

All Tournament Team: Pitcher Justine Smethurst (Qld)
  Catcher Rachel Lack (NSW)
  1st Base Jessica Muller (Qld)
  2nd Base Brenda De Blaes (Qld)
  3rd Base Tara Speakman (Qld)
  Shortstop Brittany Vonk (Qld)
  Outfielders Samantha Poole (NSW)
Janice Blackman (Qld)
Chelsea Forkin (Qld)
  Designated Player Clare Warwick (ACT)
Sponsors: Australian Sports Commission, Easton, Greatrex