2020 Summer Slam lineups released

2020 Summer Slam lineups released

The 2020 Summer Slam – Fully Loaded Softball takes place at Blacktown International Sportspark from 3-5 February immediately following the Australia Pacific Cup and is this year set to feature a host of international stars mixed with some up and coming talent in Australian softball.

While the core group of Travelodge Aussie Spirit and New Zealand White Sox stars will remain in their respective team’s from 2019, the absence of players from Italy and Chinese Taipei will see a number of the next generation take part in the exciting, fast-paced, three-day tournament.

Queenslander Jade Wall will fill the captain’s role for the Emeralds with inaugural skipper Clare Warwick injured.

Firepower has been added to the pitching ranks, notable debutantes in 2020 are Justine Smethurst who joins her fellow Olympian Stacey Porter for the Panthers, newly signed Division 1 College pitcher Tarni Stepto for the Bandits, and Travelodge Aussie Spirit pitchers Amelia Cudicio (Panthers) and Steph Trzcinski (Lightning) getting their first taste of the Summer Slam.

The 2019 National Pro Fastpitch Number 1 draft pick Kelly Barnhill is extending her visit to Australia to play for the Riot, as is adopted Aussie Jordan Taylor (Lightning) who currently plays professionally in Japan.

Asaki Masaki also brings Japan Pro League experience to the Lightning with U.S. imports Taurie Pogue (Fury) and Johanna Grauer (Riot) add further international flavour.

The inaugural Summer Slam – Fully Loaded Softball was won by Kaia Parnaby’s Fury after a Grand Slam homerun from Belinda White put away the Emeralds in the bottom of the third inning.

Full Team Lists*

Stacey Porter (C)
Justine Smethurst
Amelia Cudicio
Kyla Bromhead NZ
Brianna Trim
Otila Tavite NZ
Brooke Spence
Brooke Whiteman NZ
Verity Long-Droppert
Sara Riou
Hayley Bonython

Leigh Godfrey (C)
Tyla Morrison NZ
Jordan Taylor USA
Stephanie Trzcinski
Sasha Willems
Jessica Torpey
Lara Andrews NZ
Georgia Hood
Stacey McManus
Asaki Masaki JAP
Shannon Keevers
Nerissa McDowell NZ

Jade Wall (C)
Ellen Roberts
Loran Parker NZ
Taylah Tsitsikronis
Brooke Stewart
Lana Kaesler
Taylah Welch
Ashley Johnston NZ
Moe Kurihara
Charisma Kerr
Jasmine Peters

Kaia Parnaby (C)
Erin Blackmore NZ
Belinda White
Sarah Tonkin
Kalina Stepto
Madisun Graham
Taurie Pogue USA
Tahli Moore
Grace Peters
Tamieka Whitefield
Kayla Hancox
Bree-Anna Butler

Chelsea Forkin (C)
Kelly Barnhill USA
Johanna Grauer USA
Rachel Lack
Sophie Roberts
Michelle Cox
Jordan Lambert
Caitlin Lewin NZ
Amelia Mercuri
Lucy MacIntyre NZ
Katherine Laemmle

Carmelle Sorensen (C)
Sandra Holden
Amy Begg NZ
Tarni Stepto
Jenna Trim
Chelsea Robinson
Mereana Makea NZ
Isabelle Hanna
Mya Geros
Maddie Cameron
Janice Blackman
Pippa Adkins

The 2020 Summer Slam – Fully Loaded Softball will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS Australia and Kayo from 5:00pm 3-5 February.

To purchase tickets to the Summer Slam – Fully Loaded Softball, please visit www.humanitix.com.au/2020-summer-slam.

The Summer Slam – Fully Loaded Softball is an exciting, fast-paced take on the traditional game with only three innings, shorter fences and loaded bases for every inning. Six teams made up of international softball stars compete over three days with the winner crowned on the final day.

*Teams subject to change