2018 Junior Steelers team named

2018 Junior Steelers team named

Softball Australia is pleased to announce the 2018 Junior Steelers (Australian Under 19 Men’s) team, for the WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Championship, to be held in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada, later this year from 7-15 July.

The team has four players returning for their second junior men’s world championship, with Blake Jackson, Shaun Lanaghan, Michael Ludkin and Jett Wright all playing for the Junior Steelers at the 2016 WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Championship, held in Midland, USA, where Australia finished sixth.

Despite not playing at this year’s national championships, Layton Reid is progressing well in his recovery from a knee injury sustained halfway through last year. His outstanding performances at last year’s U17 Boys and U19 Men’s National Championships justified his selection in the team.

The Junior Steelers will depart Australia on 23 June and will be based in Milverton, Ontario, Canada in the lead-up to the world championship, before travelling to Prince Albert to take on the rest of the world.

2018 Australian Under 19 Men’s Team

Josh Bond (NSW) Bradley Kilpatrick (NSW) Layton Reid (Qld)
Jacob Donaldson (NSW) Ryan King (NSW) Keenan Smith (Qld)
Jarred Garland (NSW) Shaun Lanaghan (NSW) Dawson Summers (WA)
Matthew Harrow (ACT) Michael Ludkin (Qld) Jeremy Waters (Qld)
Blake Jackson (NSW) Bolton Nussbaum (ACT) Jett Wright (WA)
Riley James (Qld) Christopher Plain (NSW)

Team Officials
Head Coach: Laing Harrow
Assistant Coach: Darrin Hebditch
Assistant Coach: Adam Rindfleish
Team Manager: Mike Titheradge
Video Analyst: Tony Mackie
Physiotherapist: Bernie Simai
Statistician: TBC
Umpire: Trevor Murphy

Those players in the squad of 30 but not in the final team of 17 will be considered as non-travelling reserves.